Guy Things

October 1, 2008

Recently, and by recently I mean today, I read a profile online where the man stated that he was into guys that were into “guy things.”  What does that mean?  Because I know there are people in this country that would not consider two men kissing to fall under the category of “guy things.”  But I bet that the gay man that wrote that in his profile wouldn’t agree with them.  

Now, I know what he is trying to say, but I can’t help but feel that when gay men say things like that they just come across sounding homophobic and self-hating.  The fact of the matter is that by somebody’s standards we all do guy and girl things.  The goal, as I see it, is to discover and embrace the person you are.  And when it comes to dating, the beautiful thing is, everyone can find someone that accepts them regardless of what “girl things” they like to do and what “guy things” they like to do.

Leave a Reply

