Bookstores, Coffee Shops, Cafes

August 2, 2008

This evening I had to go to Target to replace about $25 worth of various contact lens solutions that my 4-year-old niece dumped down the drain earlier today, no doubt making some sort of imaginative  “potion” or “stew” in the bathroom sink.  But after I went to Target I went to Barnes and Noble (there’s only one in St. George) and looked around at some books and magazines.  That may sound rather uninteresting or underwhelming to most of you, but it brought me deep enjoyment.  

You see, I love bookstores, coffee shops, and cafes.  (Barnes and Noble combines all of those things into one!) But for all the years I’ve been in school I’ve never been able to fully enjoy these places as I’d like to.  Bookstores, coffee shops, and cafes are places to slow down and take things in, but when I was in school and especially when I had my boards looming ahead I could never really let myself relax.  I always felt like I should be studying, or writing that paper that’s due next week, or reading the chapters for Monday’s lecture.  So, tonight, I just enjoyed the bookstore without feeling like I needed to study anything.  I relaxed internally in a way that I haven’t been able to do in many years.  

This is not to say that I’ve completely turned my thinking processes around 180 degrees, no, I still had thought’s of needing to find a job and a place to live in New York.  But I am definitely making baby steps into becoming a real life non-student adult human.  Over the last two and half days since I found out I passed my boards I’ve had so many moments of sudden remembrance/realization that I am done with school.  These moments are freedom and joy wrapped into one euphoric emotion.  This is an incredible place to be and I’m really trying to take it all in and appreciate it for exactly what it’s worth.

Leave a Reply

